EBU_Blues Behind The Scenes Award The European Blues Union (EBU) has created the Blues Behind The Scenes Awards to recognize European individuals, associations or organizations which have devoted their lives or worked actively, making significant contributions to advance and support the blues in Europe. Individual people, associations, organizations, record labels, magazines, radios, journalists, promoters, managers, writers, blues researchers… Everyone whose name is not usually well known to the general public but have always been there “behind the scenes” working seriously with commitment and enthusiasm to promote the blues in various aspects. Three BBSA categories have been established:
  1. Media (magazines, on-line media, photographers, radio, researchers, writers…)
  2. Promoters (clubs, events, festivals, venues…)
  3. Production (agents, labels, managers, producers, publishers)
Here is the list of all past winners:

2015 Brussels (Belgium)

Media. Joan Ventosa (Bad Music) Spain Production: Alfie Falckenbach (Music Avenue/Blues Boulevard). Belgium (R.I.P.) Promotion: Robert Mauries (Cahors Blues Festival) France Special Outstandig Contribution Award: Jay Sieleman (The Blues Foundation director, USA)

2016 Torrita di Siena (Italy)

Media: Andrzej Matysik (Twoj Blues Magazine). Poland Production: Hannes Anrig. (Blueshouse Productions). Switzerland (R.I.P) Promotion: Miikka Porkka (Puistoblues Festival) Finland

2017 Horsens (Denmark)

Media: David Baerst (Route 66 Radio). France Production: Mike Vernon (freelance). United Kingdom Promotion: Martin “Carl” Bruendler (Lucerne Blues Festival). Switzerland

2018 Hell (Norway)

Media: Blues News. Finland (Maiju Lasola) Production: Thomas Ruf. Ruf Records (Germany) Promotion: Patrick Cuyvers. Peer Blues Festival (Belgium) Special Outstanding Contribution Award: Jean Guillermo (France Blues)

2019 Ponta Delgada (Azores)

Media; Dirk Fóhrs. German Bluesnews Magazine Production: Erkan Ozdemir. Lowtone Music (Germany) Promotion: Carlos Malles. Hondarribia Blues Festival (Spain)

2020-21 On-line Delivery Ceremony, 2021

Media: Charlie Hussey Ireland; The Blues Train Production: Aurélie Roquet France, On The Road Again Promotion: Silvio Calderari Switzerland, Sierre Blues Festival

2022 Malmö (Sweden)

Media: Marino Grandi Italy, Il Blues Magazine Production: Peter Astrup Denmark, Blues Heaven Festival Promotion: Filip Le Roy Belgium, Swing Wespelaar

2023 Chorzow (Poland)

Media: Ashwyn Smyth UK, Digital Blues Production: Paul Long UK, Blues & Roots Connections Promotion: Rui Gurreiro & Dulio Canairo Portugal, BB Blues
Know more about the winners  in each year dedicated pages: